Home

Exciting news as far as my writing is concerned: I’ve decided to participate in this year’s edition of NaNoWriMo!

Now for the uninitiated (or those who have a hard time with abbreviations and/or acronyms), NaNoWriMo is the National Novel Writing Month, which takes place every November. The challenge is to write an entire 50,000 word novel in one month. Crazy? You bet. Doable? Sure. Going to hurt my social life? Without question. Worth doing? Definitely.

The rules are self-regulated and on the honour system, but basically you can’t start writing until November 1st at midnight (you know, in the middle of Halloweening) and you must stop and send your doc to the NaNoWriMo folks by midnight on the 31st to get a shiny digital completion (“winner’s”) badge.

This will really be a test on my ability to sit upright at my computer, but I think with some inspiration, caffeine and encouragement I’ll be able to get it done. Keep in my mind that my first novel took me nearly two years to write, so this is going to be all the more challenging. It should be a very raw, fresh and enjoyable process, though. Who knows, maybe at this rate next year I’ll participate in the 3-Day Novel Contest over Labour Day weekend.

Without getting too far ahead of myself, I’m going to just state that I’m going to do this, and in the five weeks leading up to November share some of my training process on this blog (think nonathletic version of the Rocky montage) and on Twitter. And then once November begins, all bets are off.

As a further note, I’ll also be growing a mustache in November (or “Movember”) to raise money for charity. I figure my upper lip can be donated to a worthy cause while the rest of my body selfishly indulges in fiction, right?

One thought on “A challenge!

  1. Congrats on taking up the challenge. My very first novel was written last year during NaNo, so I know it can be done. The next on has taken me about seven months so far, but it’s finally in its last revision. NaNo is a real trip! Hope you enjoy it.

Comments are closed.