Home

Finally, after mentioning some of the other bands at Osheaga over the past couple days, with Honourable Mentions, and the Misses, we can get to the real meat (or meat substitute) of this upcoming festival. Today, it is number 10 on my Top 10 Artists I’m Excited To Be Seeing At Osheaga 2010.

#10

Seu Jorge & Almaz

For the uninitiated, Seu Jorge is a bit of a cult favourite in the indie world, particularly for his Portuguese covers of David Bowie in the Wes Anderson film, The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou. It’s my favourite movie, largely due to Bill Murray, Willem Dafoe, and Jeff Goldblum’s characters, but the idiosyncratic soundtrack by Jorge plays a role.

However, there is more to Seu Jorge than just playing Bowie from Rio. In his native Brazil, Jorge is seen as an artist who revived the pop samba scene.

It’s that side of things that gets me interested. My only regret is that I don’t speak Portuguese. Seu’s English songs are a bit on the simple side (e.g. Roy Ayers covers), but enjoyable for an afternoon in the sun with a bevvie, because as we all know “Everybody Loves The Sunshine”.

